Bindu – The Point of Nectar

Most people believe that after Ajna chakra, the next is Sahasrara. It is true, but Bindu comes first, before Sahasrara. Not actually a chakra, but an important point, so I will share its importance with you.

Bindu literally means ‘drop’ or ‘point’. Mostly indicated as Bindu Visraga, this literally means ‘falling of the drop’. Located at the top back of the head, where the Brahmins leave Shikha, a tuft of hair. Bindu is represented by the crescent moon and a white drop, which is the nectar flowing towards Vishuddhi chakra. This centre controls all metabolic processes, produces nutrition and the required oxygen quantity needed.

Bindu is also the centre of concentration for psychic sounds, Nada, which manifest at this point during practices like brahmari pranayama and shanmukhi mudra, both arising the awareness of Nada.

Symbolized by the full moon as the drop of nectar, and the crescent moon which is associated with the phases of the moon. Bindu has no specific practices for awakening. Once Vishuddhi becomes active it will have a consequential influence on bindu.

• Sure ways to self-realization, Swami Satyananda Saraswati
• Kundalini Tantra, Swami Satyananda Saraswati

This entry was posted in Chakras, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bindu – The Point of Nectar

  1. Bill Debenham says:

    For the Bindu Chakra, it’s said ‘that the Crescent Moon signifies that the spiritual aspirant has some glimpses of the Sahasrara Chakra but not the total experience’ but the Sahasrara also has a Crescent Moon!
    What I’ really want to know is, why is there a Crescent Moon and the Sun [behind the “Celestial Wish-Fulfilling Tree”] in the Hrit Padma /Hridaya Kamala (Heart Lotus) – what do they signify?
    Can you help?
    Warm regards,

    • mahasadhu says:

      Hello bill,
      From what I know, kalpataru, the celestial wish fulfilling tree is located below Anahata chakra, and doesn’t have any sun or crescent moon behind it.

      For Sahasrara there is a linga present and not a crescent moon.

      I guess these differences arise from different methods interpreting the chakras.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s