Creation by Sankhya philosophy

According to Sankhya Philopsophy, which Ayurveda and Yoga share, all the universe was created through Purusha and Prakriti.

Purusha is the universal Cosmic Conciousness, Prakriti is choiceful consciousness. Both of them are eternal, timeless and immeasurable.

Purusha and Prakriti exist in each and every one of us, as well as inanimate objects. Purusha is not moving at all, he is the silent witness.
While Prakriti is the devine creative which dances the dance of Creation.
In the manifestation of nature from Prakriti, the first expression is Mahat, intelligence, or cosmic order (Buddhi in Humans).

Next is Ahamkar, or the Ego, the sense of self-identity, the centre in our consciousness from where we think, act and react.
Ahamkar is expressed in three universal qualities: Sattva, Rajas and Tamas.

Sattva – Purity, stability, clarity and light,
Rajas – Movement, sensations, feelings, emotions,
Tamas – Lethargy, darkness, ignorance and heaviness.

From Sattva comes the Mind, five sense faculties and five motor organs.
From Tamas comes the five senses according to the five gross elements.
Rajas is important for the movement of the two previous ones. without Rajas, Sattva and Tamas are dormant.

a picture to show it:

Sankhya Philosophy

* Knowledge from Vasant Lad, The Complete Book of Ayurvedic Home Remedies.

This entry was posted in Ayurveda, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creation by Sankhya philosophy

  1. Pingback: Yoga and Ayurveda for a healthy balanced life! | Ayurveda&Yoga

  2. Pingback: Introduction to Ayurveda | My Life, a journey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s