Ayurveda Basics

According to Ayurvedic philosphy, we see the universe as being made of five gross elements, or Pancha Maha Bhuta.
Pancha – five, Maha – Gross or big, Bhuta – Element.

First there was the Lord, then was created Space (as a meaning to place – not outer space), as we need space in order to have something inside,
then came the Air, and filled the space,
after Air, and its movement in Space, the friction from Air’s movement created Fire,
Fire started melting the air and created Water,
Water came down and became stabilized as Earth.

The five senses also connected to the five gross elements:
Space – Hearing
Air – Touch
Fire – Sight
Water – Taste
Earth – Smell

The elements and their correspondence to the Doshas and tastes are in the text attached,

Thank You

Ayurveda basics

This entry was posted in Ayurveda and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ayurveda Basics

  1. sasharoben says:

    Reblogged this on yogayurveda*universe and commented:
    Ayurveda Basics on the WordPress Blog: Ayurveda&Yoga

  2. Pingback: Haritaki – The magical herb! | Ayurveda&Yoga

  3. Pingback: Yoga and Ayurveda for a healthy balanced life! | Ayurveda&Yoga

  4. Pingback: Origin of Man and Diseases | Ayurveda&Yoga

  5. Pingback: 8 Tips for a good digestion | Ayurveda&Yoga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s